Multiplan president receives award that recognizes the defense of ethics and citizenship

Click on the image to enlarge.

On 16 August, Multiplan President José Isaac Peres received the Don Quixote de La Mancha Trophy, together with the Chief Justice of the Federal Supreme Court (STF) and National Justice Council (CNJ), Justice Carmen Lúcia, and Supreme Court Justices Luiz Roberto Barroso and Edson Fachin, along with 18 other prominent members of the National Judiciary, for outstanding performance in the defense of ethics, morality, justice and citizenship rights in the course of 2017. The award was presented by Federal Supreme Court Justice Luiz Fux.

Sponsored annually by Justice and Citizenship magazine, this year's awards ceremony was held at the STF. Founded 18 years ago and with free distribution, the magazine promoting the event has been acting as a forum for debate on the direction of the Judicial branch of government.

The presentation if the award trophies was made by the jurist, ex-minister and former senator from Amazonia Bernardo Cabral, president of the Don Quixote Fraternity. Cabral stressed the importance of recognizing ethical attitudes in the efforts to create a better Brazil.

Justices Carmen Lúcia and Roberto Barroso of the STF and Judge Mauro Campbell of the STJ received the Sancho Panza trophy, which honors individuals who have already received the Don Quixote award and who have remained faithful to the same principles.

At the same time, the president of the STF and the CNJ, Justice Carmen Lúcia, emphasized that the trophy "is not a mere tribute, but a call for each magistrate to assume more responsibility in times of greater difficulty faced by society."

During the ceremony, also receiving recognition were the Judge Inspector João Otávio de Noronha; Judges of the Superior Court of Justice (STJ), Luis Felipe Salomão, Mauro Campbell Marques, Paulo de Tarso Sanseverino, Antônio Carlos Ferreira, Ricardo Villas Bôas Cueva, Sebastião dos Reis Júnior and Paulo Dias de Moura Ribeiro; also Judges of the Superior Labor Court (TST) Guilherme Augusto Caputo Bastos and Alexandre Agra Belmonte; Maria Elizabeth Guimarães Teixeira Rocha, of the Superior Military Tribunal (STM); Bruno Dantas, of the Federal Audit Court; André Fontes, of the Federal Regional Court of the 2nd Region (TRF2); Flávio Pacarelli, of the Court of Justice of Amazonas; the President of the Brazilian Bar Association (OAB), Claudio Lamachia; OAB Board Member Marcus Vinicius Furtado Coelho; Attorney Antonio Augusto Coelho; and Bradesco Board of Directors Member Milton Matsumoto.